Ukraine nuclear energy plant assault: Russia, Belarus suspended from Council of Baltic Sea States | World News

New Delhi: The European Union on Saturday mentioned it had joined members of the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS) in suspending Russia and Belarus from the Council`s actions.

“This decision is a part of the European Union’s and like-minded partners’ response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and the involvement of Belarus in this unprovoked and unjustified aggression,” it mentioned on Saturday.

“The EU agrees with the other members of the CBSS (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland and Sweden) that the suspension of Russia and Belarus will remain in force until it is possible to resume cooperation based on respect for fundamental principles of international law,” it added.

The announcement comes a day after Russian troops attacked and seized Europe’s largest Nuclear Power Plant, Zaporizhzhia station, triggering alarm throughout the globe.

Both the United Nations and the US condemned the assault and urged Russia to not create dependencies across the nuclear forces.

US embassy in Kyiv referred to as the assault a conflict crime.

Meanwhile, in a significant improvement, Russia agreed to watch a brief ceasefire to facilitate the evacuation of civilians from Ukraine.

The seven-hour lengthy ceasefire has begun in Mariupol and Volnovakha cities of Ukraine to arrange humanitarian corridors for the evacuation of civilians and supply of meals and medicines.

Live TV

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.