second version of champions boat league from sept 4 by Kerala tourism

Event will conclude with President’s Trophy Race at Ashtamudi Lake on November 26

Event will conclude with President’s Trophy Race at Ashtamudi Lake on November 26

The second version of the Champions Boat League (CBL) that options Kerala’s iconic snakeboats shall be held from September 4 to November 26 in 12 venues throughout 5 districts in Kerala, Minister for Tourism PA Mohamed Riyas stated at a curtain-raiser right here on July 2.

The inaugural leg of the snakeboat races which might be organized by Kerala Tourism shall be held at Punnamada Lake in Alappuzha, alongside the Nehru Trophy Boat Race on September 4. It will conclude with the President’s Trophy Race at Ashtamudi Lake in Kollam on November 26.

One for small boats

Besides, there shall be a contest of small boats on the Chaliyar river in Kozhikode, stated Mr. Riyas, who additionally unveiled the brand new jerseys of 9 CBL groups. This is aimed toward popularizing snakeboat races within the Malabar area as effectively.

The CBL-2 races shall be held as consecutive weekend occasions. Like its first version in 2019, held on the strains of the Indian Premier League in cricket, there shall be 5 races in Alappuzha district, two every in Kollam and Ernakulam districts and one every in Thrissur and Kottayam districts.


The venues in Alappuzha shall be Pulinkunnu, Kainakary, Karuvatta, Pandanadu (Chengannur) and Kayamkulam, moreover on the district headquarters. Piravom and Marine Drive in Ernakulam, Kollam city and Kallada, Thazhathangadi (in Kottayam) and Kottapuram (close to Kodungalloor in Thrissur district) are the opposite venues.

Principal Secretary of Kerala Tourism KS Srinivas and the Director of Tourism PB Nooh too have been current on the curtain-raiser. Mr Nooh stated Kerala, which has over 600 km of shoreline and 44 rivers, has immense potential to host extra water-based occasions, particularly for the reason that each day life and regional festivals are carefully linked with the waterbodies.

Prize cash in 2019

The debut CBL version, which was flagged off by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan within the presence of cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar in August 2019, featured 9 groups and carried prize cash of ₹5.86 crore. Tropical Titans (historically Pallathuruthy Boat Club) who scored 173 factors was the winner and bagged ₹1.31 crore prize cash, adopted by Raging Rowers (Karichal) and Mighty Oars (NCDC Devas), who received ₹82 lakh and ₹69 lakh respectively.

A little bit of historical past

Snakeboats are believed to be a minimum of seven centuries previous, beginning with an order of Chembakassery principality’s 14th Century king Devanarayanan to design picket vessels with its one prow rising within the form of a reptile’s hood. The ruler gained the battle within the sprawling backwaters, growing the fame to the 138-foot-long boats as multipurpose carriers. The appears of the boat constructed from wild jackfruit tree stay unchanged. CBL guidelines allow 80 to 100 rowers within the vessels, which may carry 150 individuals. Though conceived as an annual occasion, the CBL missed its 2020 and ’21 editions owing to COVID curbs.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.