Sardar, Thakur return to Indian hockey – as coaches

Uthra Ganesan


Indian hockey will see the return of prolific scorer and former star Deepak Thakur and legendary Sardar Singh in new roles with the duo named as coaches for the Indian males’s and ladies’s ‘A’ groups respectively on Saturday.

While there have been developmental sides in Indian hockey up to now, that is maybe the primary time since lengthy that ‘A’ groups, with an eye fixed on increasing the expertise pool, have been named in a busy competitors 12 months.

It can even be a welcome return to energetic hockey for former captain Sardar since his retirement in 2018. Thakur, nevertheless, has been actively concerned in teaching roles along with his employer Indian Oil for home meets for the previous couple of years though he has stored his distance from the nationwide scene.


The 33-member squads every for women and men will start coaching on the SAI Bengaluru Center from March 7. The transfer comes following a gathering with Sports Secretary Sujata Chaturvedi to assessment preparations for the Commonwealth Games and Asian Games.

New faces

Interestingly, whereas the ladies’s squad consists of a number of youthful and new faces, the lads’s squad will see the return of veterans SV Sunil, Rupinderpal Singh and Birendra Lakra who, in a shock transfer, have made themselves accessible for choice regardless of asserting retirement submit Tokyo Olympics final 12 months. Experienced ahead Ramandeep Singh has additionally been included within the squad.

The squads:

Men: Goalkeepers: Prashant Kumar Chauhan, Pawan, Pankaj Kumar Rajak, Sahil Kumar Nayak; Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Birendra Lakra, Manjeet, Yashdeep Siwach, Moirangthem Dinachandra Singh, Abhisek Lakra, Faraz Mohd, Akshay Avhad, Nabin Kujur, Abhishek Pratap Singh.

Midfielders: Mareeswaran Sakthivel, Sushil Dhanwar, Sheshe Gowda BM, Bharath KR, Gregory Xess, Darshan Vibhav Gawkar.

Forwards: Sandeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Maninder Singh, S. Karthi, Prabhjot Singh, Pawan Rajbhar, Abharan Sudev, Pardeep Singh, Mohd. Umar, Harsahib Singh, SV Sunil, Sunit Lakra, Rahul Ekka.

Women: Goalkeepers: Rashanpreet Kaur, F. Ramenmawi, Sheweta; Defenders: Simran Singh, Gagandeep Kaur, Marina Lalramnghaki, Priyanka, Reet, Reema Baxla, Mudita, Sumita.

Midfielders: Khusbu Kujur, Rinki Kujur, Premanjali Toppo, Prabhleen Kaur, Ajmina Kujur, Sushma Kumari, Jyoti, Mary Kandulana, Amandeep Kaur, Kavita Bagdi, Kirandeep Kaur.

Forwards: Chetna, Yogita Bora, Jiwan Kishori Toppo, Lalrindiki, Sarabdeep Kaur, Raju Ranwa, Neeraj Rana, Kanchan Nidhi Kerketta, Anjali Gautam, Monika Dipi Toppo, Dipti Lakra.

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.