J&Okay: Delimitation panel proposes main overhaul of Lok Sabha & meeting boundaries | India News

A normal view of Srinagar, capital of J&Okay (File picture)

NEW DELHI: The Delimitation Commission for Jammu and Kashmir has proposed redrawing the boundaries of a number of Lok Sabha and meeting seats.
The Rajouri and Poonch meeting seats from the Jammu area are to be included within the Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency. The Habba Kadal meeting seat in Jammu, thought of a conventional stronghold of Kashmiri Pandits, would stop to exist. Voters from Habba Kadal will now be a part of at the very least three meeting seats within the new proposed report.
These are among the many many proposals within the Commission’s draft report that has been handed over to 5 affiliate members from the Union Territory for his or her recommendations.
Barring Khanyar, Sonwar and Hazratbal meeting seats of Srinagar district, all different seats have been redrawn and merged with new meeting seats being carved out like Channapora and Srinagar South, officers mentioned.
Similarly 5 meeting seats in Budgam dostrict have been redrawn and merged with Baramulla Parliamentary constituency apart from splitting among the areas and carving out new meeting seats like Kunzer in North Kashmir.
Sangrama seat in North Kashmir has been merged with different meeting seats, they mentioned.
Pulwama, Tral and a few areas of Shopian, which shaped a part of the Anantnag Lok Sabha seat, will now be a part of the Srinagar Parliamentary seat.
The report was despatched to the 5 affiliate members Farooq Abdullah, Hasnain Masoodi and Akbar Lone (Lok Sabha MPs from the National Conference) and Jitendra Singh and Jugal Kishore (BJP MPs) on Friday.
They have been requested to submit their views by February 14 after which the report can be put within the public area, the officers added.
“National Conference summarily rejects draft working paper made available by Delimitation Commission to associate members on 4th February 2022,” occasion spokesperson Imran Nabi Dar mentioned.
The report has ignored the objections filed by the National Conference on December 31 final yr rejecting the proposal to extend six Assembly seats within the Jammu area as in opposition to only one within the Kashmir division.
The fee headed by retired Supreme Court decide Justice Ranjana Desai with Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra and state election fee KK Sharma was arrange on March 6, 2020 and was granted an extension of a yr on March 6, 2021, which can finish subsequent month .
The Delimitation Commission has held two conferences with the Associate Members on February 18 and December 20 final yr. While the primary assembly was boycotted by the three National Conference MPs, they attended the second assembly.
The NC had vociferously opposed the draft proposals which can enhance the variety of Assembly seats within the Jammu division from 37 to 43 and in Kashmir from 46 to 47.
The occasion, in its objections, had termed the Reorganization of Jammu and Kashmir Act as “Constitutionally suspect” and questioned the suggestions of the delimitation panel particularly its rationale behind rising six seats within the Jammu division as in opposition to one within the Kashmir area.
In its reply to the Commission, the NC argued that there have been query marks over the Constitutional propriety of the panel particularly when the occasion together with a number of others had approached the Supreme Court difficult the motion of August 5, 2019 by the Center of revoking the particular standing and bifurcating the erstwhile state in two union territories – Ladakh and Jammu and Kashmir.
The occasion mentioned the Commission has been shaped due to the Reorganization Act of Jammu and Kashmir 2019 which is beneath judicial scrutiny and the Supreme Court is but to ship its order.
The panel’s suggestions are born out of an Act which is a “Constitutionally suspect” regulation, it mentioned.
According to authorized parlance, if any Act is beneath judicial custody and the apex court docket is seized of the matter, it may be termed as a Constitutionally suspect regulation.
The occasion mentioned the precept of Constitution propriety calls for that such a regulation shouldn’t be carried out and all of the limbs of the state and their establishments ought to, out of deference to the highest constitutional court docket, desist from implementing such regulation until its constitutionality is set.
The National Conference additionally challenged the idea of Commission that the seats needed to be prolonged within the Jammu area due to troublesome terrains and geographically distant areas.
It highlighted that a number of areas in Kashmir stay cut-off for months and are equally arduous in terms of the remoteness of an space.
The occasion highlighted a number of areas in Anantnag, Kupwara, Baramulla, Kulgam and Uri in Kashmir division to match remoteness and difficult terrain.
The main objection of the occasion was in regards to the components that had been adopted by the Commission by ignoring the idea of inhabitants and mentioned Kashmir division, regardless of having the next variety of individuals in comparison with Jammu, bought just one seat.
After the completion of the delimitation train, the variety of Assembly seats in Jammu and Kashmir will go up from 83 to 90.
In the erstwhile meeting of Jammu and Kashmir state, Kashmir had 46 seats, Jammu 37 and Ladakh 4.
(With inpits from PTI)


Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.