Final Groups And Fixtures Confirmed For ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Zimbabwe has received the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B defeating the Netherlands and securing the ultimate spot in Group B within the First Round at Australia 2022 alongside Ireland, Scotland and West Indies. Australia will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup for the primary time ever between October 16 and November 13 2022 throughout seven host cities, with Geelong and Hobart enjoying host to the First Round.

Zimbabwe’s first match will happen on the second day of the Men’s T20 World Cup towards fellow qualifier Ireland in Hobart on October 17. The night match might be performed as a part of a double-header, with West Indies taking over Scotland within the afternoon fixture .

Runner-up Netherlands will be part of Sri Lanka, Namibia and the United Arab Emirates in Group A, enjoying their first match on the opening day of the World Cup in Geelong towards the United Arab Emirates. This might be a night match following 2014 champions Sri Lanka going through Namibia within the T20 World Cup opener.

On a day of low-scoring encounters within the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B, hosts Zimbabwe secured a 37-run win over the Netherlands within the remaining regardless of being restricted to simply 132 batting first. Sikandar Raza was the hero for the house aspect, taking 4 for eight from his 4 overs throughout a spell wherein the Dutch misplaced six wickets for simply 17 runs.

Logan van Beek (3/18) had earlier performed an essential function for the Netherlands, eradicating each skipper Craig Ervine and Raza as Zimbabwe slumped from 93 for 3 to 132 all out.

In reply, the Dutch made an affordable begin, sitting at 45 for 2 earlier than the wickets began tumbling, with Raza trapping Stephan Myburgh (22) leg earlier than for his first wicket and arguably an important of the match.

Zimbabwe captain Craig Ervine mentioned: “It’s unbelievable. This is what we used to know Zimbabwe cricket to be like, all of the supporters popping out and cheering for us. And over the previous week, we have positively given them one thing to cheer about. From the gamers’ viewpoint, it is good to see the cheers and the happiness again within the crowd.

“We’ve simply received to focus on what we have now carried out over this week. The World Cup First Round is in October so there may be loads of time between every now and then to have a chat and take into consideration how we’re going to go about that.”

Netherlands captain Scott Edwardssaid: “Both teams came out here to win and they were too good for us today. We got what we came here for in qualifying for the World Cup, it’s just a little bit disappointing that we couldn’t perform in the final.”

“Each group (on the World Cup) has received its challenges so we’ll put together for Australia and the groups we’re enjoying towards and see how we go,” he added.

Group A: Namibia, Sri Lanka, UAE, Netherlands

Group B: Ireland, Scotland, West Indies, Zimbabwe


Group 1: Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Winner Group A, Runner-Up Group B

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Runner Up Group A, Winner Group B

Topics talked about on this article

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.